Finger indentations when handbuilding.....oops

Hi all,

At this point I am still learning to throw pots, so I do mostly hand building. What I find especially on "harder" to form bowls, etc. is that I push too hard and get finger impressions in the clay, then they are basically impossible to remove. I have tried to gently press the clay down, and I "feel" that I am using only the needed pressure to mold the clay down to meet the surface of the bowl, but I still get finger marks. Once they are there, I can't seem to get them out -

How does a person learn to avoid tis (obviously less pressure) but I feel that I am only using enough to adhere to the object....

AND - once there are there, how do you work them out? You can only work the sponge over an area so many times before the area gets thinner than the rest of the area around it -

Suggestions?

Some of these pictures are not that great, and the marks are not as bad as they appear in the pictures, but will give you an idea what I am referring to!

Charlene

post-14131-135716303724_thumb.jpg

post-14131-135716305553_thumb.jpg

post-14131-13571630714_thumb.jpg

I would use a flexible rib for that task instead of a sponge. If you are familiar with Sherrill MudTools ribs, I would recommend a red one.

http://www.mudtools.com/flexRibs.html

Mea