ceramic?porcelain?stoneware?

Hello, everyone. I'm Alice.

I'm a newbie and I hope you can help me.

What's exactly the differences between ceramic, porcelain, and stoneware? I searched it on the internet, but still couldn't have a clear understanding about it.

Please help me.

Thank you very much.

What's exactly the differences between ceramic, porcelain, and stoneware? I searched it on the internet, but still couldn't have a clear understanding about it.

Alice,

I'm kinda new at this myself, so here's how I understand things -- and if I'm wrong, I'm sure someone here will let me know. smile.gif

"Ceramics" is a general term that covers anything made by forming and firing clay. There are industrial applications as well as artistic ones for ceramics, from bathroom tiles, toilets, and sinks to kitchen knives to pieces of the space shuttle.

"Stoneware" is a broad term for most mid-fire clays (cone 4-6) that aren't porcelain. Earthenware, by contrast, is low-fire clay (cone 04-cone 3).

"Porcelain" is a specific type of clay, and I confess I don't know a lot about it other than that can be either mid-range (around ^6) which isn't a "true" porcelain, or high-fire (cone 10-14).

Alice,

I'm kinda new at this myself, so here's how I understand things -- and if I'm wrong, I'm sure someone here will let me know. smile.gif

"Ceramics" is a general term that covers anything made by forming and firing clay. There are industrial applications as well as artistic ones for ceramics, from bathroom tiles, toilets, and sinks to kitchen knives to pieces of the space shuttle.

"Stoneware" is a broad term for most mid-fire clays (cone 4-6) that aren't porcelain. Earthenware, by contrast, is low-fire clay (cone 04-cone 3).

"Porcelain" is a specific type of clay, and I confess I don't know a lot about it other than that can be either mid-range (around ^6) which isn't a "true" porcelain, or high-fire (cone 10-14).

Bravo, very good answers.