Why are you addicted to clay? | Q.O.W. 12/11/12

Guest JBaymore

Guest JBaymore

Pertty simple one this week...............

Why are you addicted to clay?

Check out joining the Potters Council ( www.potterscouncil.org ) for more networking possibilities, peer mentoring opportunities, discounts on books, magazines, and DVDs, health insurance, credit card merchant programs, and many other member benefits.

I threw pots in college...as did many folks...but I was a rather lacklustre student. I enjoyed it...but never caught the fever. Over the years I developed a fascination for ceramic bowls...I collected them and displayed them and used them...but never had the opportunity to throw. Fast forward 34 years...my wife asked me if I would like to take lessons from a friend who is a professional potter...I thought why not? After the first lesson I was hooked...and my life has been forever changed! I am addicted to clay for the peace it brings me. I have often said that when I am centering clay on the wheel I feel I am centering my life. There is great joy in taking a lump of clay and guiding it and allowing it to guide me to the pot that is to be found within. When a bowl or vase or platter is forming in front of me I find such great satisfaction in the process and the discovery!

It was 1969 and I had just dropped several hits of acid and was on my way to a drawing class when I passed the ceramics studio and saw a beautiful woman throwing a pot, so I went in and sat down in the tractor seat of the Randall wheel next to her to watch her but ended up watching the clay she was throwing. An hour or two later I was still watching her throw until someone asked me to move off the wheel and told me the woman was long gone. I decided to drop the drawing class and take ceramics 101 instead.

Jim