Carpal tunnel

I've just found out that the numbness in my hands at night (only when I lie on my side) is from carpal tunnel syndrome. Is this a common problem among potters? Does the wedging method contribute to it? Or what else?

I'm pretty small and very weak (and pretty old, too), so I have to work pretty hard to wedge and center clay. Not sure if my pottery work is causing this problem, but I sure want to be able to continue to "play with clay!"

Any suggestions?

Ginny

I've had both my wrists operated on for CTS, I'd had them done before I started playing with mud, so clay had nothing to do with it for me.

It seems to me that the medical profession don't really know what causes it because when I first investigated it on the net the info I got was that it was most common in both pregnant and middle aged women.

Once I knew that I had it and spoke to other people who had it the common factor that I found was grip, I've heard of plasterers getting it, usually in the hand that holds the hawk (the board with the plaster on), motorcyclists seem to be prone to it, I'm a carpenter and reasonably ambidextrous and so grip tools in both hands.

Some people can get severe pain with CTS, I just had the numbness for a couple of hours in the morning, it will get worse if you do nothing, the operation I had was simple and done under a local anaesthetic, I was fishing the next day and back at work within a week, discomfort levels from the op were about the equivalent of a mild headache for a couple of days.

I used to take B Complex vitamins for my wrist problems, and it worked great. My hand used to swell up from the tips of my fingers all the way down to my forearms. With the vitamins I rarely had it happen. It's worth a try. Double check with your doctor that taking them won't be an issue for you first.