Converting From Celsius To Cones...

Greetings!

I was wondering if any of you could offer advice/suggestions for me! I just moved to the US from Ireland. I studied Ceramics in NCAD in Dublin and I have just acquired my own studio in Raleigh and I'm working on getting it workable and liveable for August. Here I have noticed absolutely noone works in Fahreinheit... to explain what my issue is, I am fresh out of College and not only did I never work in Fahrenheit, I worked with two very very experienced technicians who never bothered with Cones..(They've worked there for over 30 years and are both accomplished sculptors)... I have been working in Clay for five years and I have no idea what a cone even is! For some reason I have a sense of shame and guilt about this even though I understand the atlantic ocean has created different ways of working!...Do you any of you have any reccomendations on a good article I can read to make sense of the changeover in my head? (Also so if someone is speaking to me about cones I don't just look at them blankly and say duhhhh...)rolleyes.gif

Guest Jessica Knapp

Hi Laragh,

I'm sure others will have some suggestions for you, but to get you started, there's a Kiln Firing Chart available as a PDF on the Ceramic Arts Daily website's education section (http://ceramicartsdaily.org/education) that equates cones to the color in the kiln, and lets you know what happens at each stage. You're probably most familiar with the color in the kiln, and what is happening at specific temperatures, and this chart just adds the Fahrenheit equivalent and more column to the right, the cones that you use in each range. To find the chart, scroll down the page to the resources section, and click the link that says Kiln Firing Chart. The PDF should download to your computer immediately.