Reasonable Expectations for a Slab Roller

I have no experience with a slab roller, but I've just set up my new Bailey DDRII 30" slab roller. I built the table exactly as Bailey suggested, with 16" on the input side, and 5 feet on the output side, where the long table's angled edge faces into the roller, about an inch or so above the input table. I covered the tabletop with formica so there would be no resistance as the wheels pulled the canvas through.

I cut my 25-lb block of clay into two pieces, cut them on a slant, and tried to feed them into the roller, which was set to 1/2". No go. I then cut those slabs thinner and tried to feed them in, but they came out looking like a roller coaster instead of the flat sheet I expected. By the time I cut the clay thin enough for the rollers to accept it, I needed a 30" input table to hold the ever-lengthening input clay slab!

So, what I am wondering is this: what is a reasonable thickness of clay to expect a slab roller to accept if you want to end up with a smooth, 1/2" thick slab? Clearly, I waaay overestimated the slab roller's flattening power.Oh, and by the way, is the loud ratcheting sound as I turn the gear-reduction wheel what I should expect to hear? I don't mind the sound; I just want to know that it doesn't mean something is wrong!

Guest JBaymore
.Oh, and by the way, is the loud ratcheting sound as I turn the gear-reduction wheel what I should expect to hear? I don't mind the sound; I just want to know that it doesn't mean something is wrong!