dry/damaged fingernails after working with clay

I'm a beginner potter, and I've noticed that throwing pots, especially porcelain it seems, is disastrous for my fingernails. They quickly dry out and chip, fraying at the ends. Being a man, I'm especially unused to anything other than cursory care for my nails, so I'm at a loss as to what may help remedy this situation. Presumably someone here, if not most of you, has experienced this. Is there anything to be done?

I'm a beginner potter, and I've noticed that throwing pots, especially porcelain it seems, is disastrous for my fingernails. They quickly dry out and chip, fraying at the ends. Being a man, I'm especially unused to anything other than cursory care for my nails, so I'm at a loss as to what may help remedy this situation. Presumably someone here, if not most of you, has experienced this. Is there anything to be done?

Hello Armen,

Some times I bite my finger nails and when I throw my nails grow back fast, maybe it is the mud factor. After having my hands in water and clay I use lotion through out the day rubbing small amounts onto each nail/finger. Unsure what product to use, treat yourself to a manicure (hold the polish) and get tips from the professional for a good lotion.

Edie

Cut your nails short and keep them that way-Use hand lotions on fingers 1st.

before throwing or clay work rub some Bag Balm (get it at animal feed stores) on fingers

If they are cracked you can use any lotion or crackZapit on them.

I super glue my cracks shut but thats extreme

This advice is from 40 years of clay fingers mostly in porcelain.

Mark

Mark;

I use Bag Balm as well. I buy it at Lee Valley Tools. Do you have that store in the states?[i am in Canada]

You can also put baby oil on your hands right before you start to throw. If you apply it too soon, you get oil on everything. These techniques are more for dry skin. I don't have many problems with nails splitting.

TJR