• Please log in to reply
37 replies to this topic

#1 Armen Enikolopov

Armen Enikolopov

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts

Posted 17 September 2012 - 02:15 PM

I'm a beginner potter, and I've noticed that throwing pots, especially porcelain it seems, is disastrous for my fingernails. They quickly dry out and chip, fraying at the ends. Being a man, I'm especially unused to anything other than cursory care for my nails, so I'm at a loss as to what may help remedy this situation. Presumably someone here, if not most of you, has experienced this. Is there anything to be done?

#2 Edith Marie

Edith Marie

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 42 posts
  • LocationHelena Montana

Posted 17 September 2012 - 03:02 PM

I'm a beginner potter, and I've noticed that throwing pots, especially porcelain it seems, is disastrous for my fingernails. They quickly dry out and chip, fraying at the ends. Being a man, I'm especially unused to anything other than cursory care for my nails, so I'm at a loss as to what may help remedy this situation. Presumably someone here, if not most of you, has experienced this. Is there anything to be done?

Hello Armen,

Some times I bite my finger nails and when I throw my nails grow back fast, maybe it is the mud factor. After having my hands in water and clay I use lotion through out the day rubbing small amounts onto each nail/finger. Unsure what product to use, treat yourself to a manicure (hold the polish) and get tips from the professional for a good lotion.

Edie

#3 Mark C.

Mark C.

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2,849 posts
  • LocationNear Arcata Ca-redwood rain forest

Posted 17 September 2012 - 03:17 PM

Cut your nails short and keep them that way-Use hand lotions on fingers 1st.
before throwing or clay work rub some Bag Balm (get it at animal feed stores) on fingers
If they are cracked you can use any lotion or crackZapit on them.
I super glue my cracks shut but thats extreme