My Journey In To Clay

Hello my soon to be new friends "I hope".

I am a complete beginner in clay, I am in the photography business by trade, a profession that was once a analog industrial art form. You bought film, that was made with silver and color dies, photographed your subject using precise exposure equations, and then you processed the film to exact specifications to reveal your creation. "film or slide" you held something you created, good or bad. All very rewarding, but as the digital age crept into photography, the act for me of creating a tangible item went away. The whole process changed, now cameras are computers that expose for you, and you see the image immediately, and if you don't like it, you can change it in a computer. But for me it all has become very detached... The photograph is just zero's and one's on a solid state circuit board, it has lost the feeling of making something, something you can hold and feel. But Pottery, that is analog!! It's real, you can feel it, touch it, it has weight, texture and it's functional! So I decided to take up pottery, I am really drawn to it. What goal do I have with pottery? I don't really have one, I am just on a journey of discovery right now. I have started taking lessons and I decided to document my journey via a video blog, I film my lessons (I am up to #3) and and I have a wheel at home I just bought to so I can record my small achievements and failures. I would love for people to join me on this journey and give me any advice they can. And if you see something I am doing wrong, please tell me, I want to grow and get better at this art. I guess the best way to follow me is to check out my facebook page or you tube page here where you can comment. YouTube or Facebook. Or you can see the videos on my webpage I started. www.potterywalker.com Why document this? I started doing it to just show my friends and family, but I soon realized that maybe I could learn something by sharing this with this community an