What do you do with pots that (accidentally) have heavy bottoms?

Do you have any tricks to fix them? I teach my students a few fixes

and I notice that the fix actually allows them an opportunity to be creative.

Teaching adults for several years taught me to teach them once they were throwing decently to make that first big pull to really work out the bottom, and continue to do so until the pot cylinder was pulled. Practice makes this happen, but understanding the concept makes the practice work.

Im still a begginner by most professional standards, but I find my pots rarely have accidentally heavy bottoms; if I am careful, I trimmed the wieght. If I'm not (because I'm lazy) I leave the wieght alone. Two things have helped me reduce trimming - careful measurement of the bottom when I throw using a needle tool, before I pull the walls, and making sure that I remove buttresses (by indenting on base of the outside) when I start pulling up the walls. Both of my teachers in throwing have emphasized this second step, and when it is not done, I find it very difficult to pull the clay up into the body.

If I throw a heavy bottom, then I trim. I like footed pots, so, I actually prefer trimmed bowls aesthetically, which (when i am throwing without a specific project in mind) I throw on the hump most of the time anyway. What other tricks are there to eliminate trimming?

dPancioli;