Why not paper clay?

I haven't tried paper play yet but I've been reading a lot about it. It sounds like it is the wonder clay that solves many common problems. So my question is, why doesn't most clay have a certain amount of paper pulp in it as standard practice? What is the downside of having a little paper fiber in all of your clay? I generally use Georgie's G mix 6 with grog.

I have limited experience with it but I can say is it adds much strength to hand building sculptures. The down side i have seen is mold and thats not the good clay mold I'm speaking about as well as cutting thru slabs the knife hangs up on it unless razor sharp. I could see this a problem for trimming as well . I have never thrown any.

Mark

I haven't discovered any downside to having "a little paper" in any clay. It doesn't take much to improve clay, especially preventing wide bottoms from cracking and cracks at attachments. A very small amount isn't noticeable when throwing or pulling handles, no smoke when firing and mold only when the clay ages a while in the summer but that can be prevented by using a very diluted bit of bleach.

Jim

Jim,

what kind of pulp are you using? I use a paper linter usually and it is tough. That's why I don't use it for throwing. If you are using something that breaks down easier, like toilet paper, it may work much better for a throwing body additive. So what are you putting in the throwing body?

Marcia

There is a lot of debate about using paper clay for functional vessels ... this is what I have heard from experienced potters ...