new kiln user

Hi world,

I have never used an electric kiln before, but i think i know how to because i hve fired a gas kiln and i have read every firing guide on ceramic arts daily, but i was wondering if when you fire a cone in a kiln sitter if the cone sticks to the prongs, and if i should buy more prongs? Thank you!

Darrel

Hi world,

I have never used an electric kiln before, but i think i know how to because i hve fired a gas kiln and i have read every firing guide on ceramic arts daily, but i was wondering if when you fire a cone in a kiln sitter if the cone sticks to the prongs, and if i should buy more prongs? Thank you!

Darrel

This almost never happens. A spare set can't hurt, and they are cheap.

i was wondering if when you fire a cone in a kiln sitter if the cone sticks to the prongs, and if i should buy more prongs? Thank you!Darrel

Darrel, you should be able to remove the stuck cone from the Kiln Sitter cone supports. Pull the supports from the porcelain tube. They should slide right out of the slots. You may have to sand the supports with emery cloth to remove all traces of the cone. In the future, coat the cone supports with kiln wash. Keep a small bottle of kiln wash nearby, mixed and ready to use. A bottle with brush applicator, such as a nail polish bottle, is convenient. Do not allow the kiln wash to build up on the cone supports. You need only a thin coat. Apply more kiln wash whenever the coating starts flaking off. Allow the kiln wash to dry before placing a cone in the Kiln Sitter.

Sincerely,

Arnold Howard

Paragon Industries, L.P., Mesquite, Texas USA

ahoward@paragonweb.com / www.paragonweb.com

I have never put wash on my cone supports, and have never had a problem.