when can I open my kiln?

Hi everyone! I am a newbie to this site and to ceramics in general. I've been giving ceramics classes to kids this summer and there is a lot of pressure to get the projects done. I have an L&L e23s electric kiln and I've been firing to 06 and 04. What temperature is it safe to open the kiln at for bisque and what temperature for glaze? The projects are relatively small and thick. thanks

Hi Morah,

Quick answer: 93d C. for bisque and gloss firing then you can open kiln and touch pots. If you have opened gloss kiln and things are pinging, and you need gloves to handle the ware...stop. Close. lid. and. wait. I will crack the lid at 200d C and wait it out. Could go on a bit of a rant about anticipation, and instant gratification, but I won't. You know what I mean here. Get the kids on another project to take their minds off "when do we open the kiln" huh? huh?

Yes. Yes, I know there are some people who push the envelope and open up a hot kiln and let it all happen. But you've got the kids' work in there and you've done a long slow bisque to ensure 100% success rate on these thickly made and no doubt riddled with air pockets precious pieces....What's another couple of hours?

You are in a perfect position to teach children to have a little patience. If they are in a hurry tell them if the kiln is opened too soon the pieces may be ruined so it is best to wait for them to cool down.

The best temperature to open the kiln is the same temperature they were when they went in, and that is room temperature. That way there is no 'ifs', 'ands' or 'buts' about it. If you find that you can't wait to open the kiln go read a book, make dinner, clean up the shop, watch a movie, start planting those petunias, there are a lot of things you can do while you are waiting for the cool down.

Don't rush it, you won't regret it.