high school beginning ceramics

I am interested in creative ways to begin a new ceramics program (including worksheets, tests, suggested beginner materials, etc.) at our high school. I will have beginners, and advanced. I am a potter and formerly elementary art teacher moving to a HS vacancy.

I am interested in creative ways to begin a new ceramics program (including worksheets, tests, suggested beginner materials, etc.) at our high school. I will have beginners, and advanced. I am a potter and formerly elementary art teacher moving to a HS vacancy.

I have been teaching HS ceramics for the past 10 years and would be happy to share with you-Email me

I taught HS ceramics for over 30 years in a moderately sized HS in PA. My ceramics 1 and 2 courses were the only ones in the HS. Ceramics 1 covered hand building aspects including pinch, coil, slab, and extrusion. Ceramics 2 included wheel throwing and combined wheel and handbuilt forms. Because of enrollments in the later years the 2 classes were included in the 1 class. This was not much of a problems as there were only 2-5 students in 2. I would highly recommend a textbook of some sort for grounding. Best bet on all of it is to have a well written curriculum, and philosophy of what you want the students to know before starting into lessons. I believe you will find the pace of HS to be interesting, and quite a change from elementary.

I have taught highschool art for 26 years in Canada. Still teaching! I taught elementary art for 4 years. You will find the pace slower but more fun. I had one Brent wheel in my class, so teaching throwing was a bit of a joke. I am also a functional potter.

There are lots of great ideas on the internet. My classes were divided by grade level, and the projects got more advanced. Begin with the basic handbuilding techniques-pinch, coil, slab.

Make "your favourite food", the anthropomorphic mug, which must incorporate an animal in the shape ie an elephant with the trunk being the handle.