marketing strategies, do you do incentives?

Thought it was time for a spin off on the craft show thread.

Do you do any sort of buying incentives?

Such as the '10% off if someone buys 2 items' mentioned on the other thread.

I have been considering something like that. Maybe 'All purchases over a certain $$$ mark gets a small pot free. I have little things that I make by the dozens that sell for $8. I'm trying to decide what the $$$ mark should be to earn the incentive.

I am so much better a potter than I am an accountant. Or speller.tongue.gif

I prefer to throw something in for free than to give money off.

Something added is a nice gesture which re-enforces my idea of the value of my work ... it is so nice that I say thank you with it.

Money off says my work really isn't worth full price so I can afford to let you pay less for it.

Also, it's not a stated policy, more a spontaneous gesture.

I frequently price my pots that way .... such as "$22 each or 2 for $40" or "$40 each or 2 for "$75"

I find that I this does encourage more buying, and buying in pairs. However, I only do this for items that I can easily produce in multiples, mugs, tumblers, noodle bowls, etc. I don't think it makes sense for one-of-a-kind pieces. For my larger and fancier things, I will offer discounts in the last hour of a show, you know when I'm tired and thinking about how much work it will take to pack and get home. If some one is looking seriously at a nice piece, I'll say "since it's the last hour of the show, I'll be glad to offer you a discount on that."

For your $8 items, I would make those "$9 each or 2 for $15" and see what happens.

Mea

I have noticed in this economy a few more folks ask for some sort of deal.

My work is not high priced so I as Chris mentioned will often put in say a spoon rest to sweeten the deal.This is for multiple items not one pot.