If the career goal is to be a college ceramics prof which would you suggest?

Hello again,

I have always been given great feedback here and I would like to thank you all! I have another question to ask of you seasoned artists as I have no art experience and am trying to help my daughter make big decisions about college (she needs to decide by May 1st). D has narrowed her list down from 7 to 2. They are very different schools in very different settings. Interestingly, these are the 2 schools that she did not even want to visit because she did not think they would meet her needs.

Alfred University - They have offered her 2 different portfolio scholarships that make it very affordable for her to attend. She did not initially want to look because of the location and the small size of the school. Once we visited she thought the campus was beautiful and the facilities and class offerings were top notch. She is however concerned about the rigor of the freshman foundations program, and very unhappy about the fact that she will not have the opportunity to take even 1 clay class during that first year (she is a clay freak). D also was unsure if she could be happy for 4 years in such a rural area, and was not sure about the social scene either. That being said, she was ready to commit to go as she thought she would be foolish to pass up such a generous offer from the top ranked ceramics program in the country.