Confused about Crazing

Hi everyone,

I'm quite new to the world of ceramics. I purchased my kiln in November of last year and have been teaching myself everything  using online resources, the instruction manual of my Paragon Firefly kiln, and have also been getting advice from a friend who has been a full time ceramics artist for several years now.

I mostly make small items - jewellery and miniature dolls. When I started out, I had no problem with crazing. I was using white earthenware slip from scarva (recommended fire temp 1080°C-1140°C), Amaco Velvet Underglazes (recommended fire temp 1040°C - 1220°C) and Scarva GZ2108 Transparent Earthenware Overglaze ( recommended fire temp 1000-1140°C)

The first items I made back in November were Christmas ornaments, which were a reasonable size, about 8cm tall.  I fired the bisque on cone 01, on medium speed with a 45 minute hold. I fired the underglaze on cone 05, on a fast speed, with a 45 minute hold. The overglaze was also fired on the 'fast' setting with a 45 minute hold. I had no problems with crazing, even though I was using three coats of the overglaze. Everything came out fine, and I continued to makes lots of mini pendants and brooches using these settings up until recently.

What happened was that I designed a planter, fired it all on the same settings, and this is when I first experienced crazing. I told my ceramicist friend about what happened, and she suggested that I fired the bisque on cone 04 instead of cone 01. She also recommended that I don't do the hold at the end, as it was unnecessary and a waste of electricity/time. So I made a new planter and bisque fired it on cone 04, followed by the glazes on cone 05. The planter came out fine, so I decided that I would do the same for my next collection of pieces.