Do you have a daily or weekly Production Goal?

Just wondering what range of self imposed quotas or product production goals (if any) potters might set. Also, if you have labor do you set any production quotas?

I'm not a production potter but I am a big believer in setting goals. I determine what realistic goals I can accomplish daily, weekly, monthly and even yearly and I get a lot accomplished. And if I fail occasionally I try not to be to hard on myself, I will say that setting goals in the studio is the hardest and has the most failures when it comes to meeting those goals. Slowing drying of clay, disappointing glaze test or having a day when everything you touch goes wrong can change your schedule. Give it a try and see if it increases your production. Denice

I consider myself a production potter

My goal is to always have plenty of finished pottery on hand.

I have an assistant as well

I have a type A work ethic and this seems to always keep the flow of work going

As far as production quotas I make what needs making when that form runs low –i.e. say I am down to a box of glasses then I make a bunchmore glasses and mix them into the next glaze fire with everything else.

I just keep ahead of show and gallery needs by making morethan I need most of the time. This did take many years to get to this highproduction point, As well as knowing what I need when.I am not a numbers man so I try not to count things say like how many pots in a kiln load or box of mugs.In fact I have in 39 years never counted how many forms in any kiln load. Thats wasted time for me.

That said I do run low now and again as I space out a formnow and again and it’s a time lag to get it finished and out the gate. I seemto work about 30 forms give or take over the years when a new one comes in I loose one so that 30 is a constant. If its sunny out I may crank up production to take advantage of the drying.