unglazed stained clay bodies

EvaV

Hi everyone, 

Kind of newbie here: I have taken some basic ceramic classes in the past, but now I'm getting back into it (yay). I discovered that I really enjoy working with porcelain, specifically making porcelain jewelry.  

I have a question concerning this matter (sorry if it’s a stupid question – I’m still very much in the learning process)

I want to try and stain porcelain clay bodies (I was thinking about mason stains, though they are quite hard to find here in Belgium). I really like the look of unglazed porcelain, but I was wondering if it’s safe to use the stained porcelain on the skin if it’s unglazed (twice fired (bisque and cone 6), but unglazed). I don’t know whether some of the toxic materials in the stains can transfer to the skin and cause irritation (or other unwanted reactions).

Thank you in advance for clarifying this for me!

Eva

PS: sorry if my English sounds a bit off - I'm not a native speaker. 

Hi @EvaV

I don't know the answer, but perhaps you could apply a clear glaze to the back of the jewelry, to the side in contact with the skin.

I made some pendants, many years ago, that were not glazed on the back, and they were uncomfortable, so I coated the back with clear nail polish.

And, your English is very good, I understood your question.

hi, eva, welcome to the forum.

look at the website of one of our members who stains clay and creates beautiful work.  her name is Chris Campbell and you can find her in the list of members.  she has not posted much lately but the photos show how much she knows on this subject.   there are previous posts with your exact question as well.