Slipcasting for tiles?

moh

Hi all,

I recently did couple of large trade shows and the overwhelming number of feedback received was about making my work into large tiles. 12", 18" squares.
My work includes no undercuts, but very fine inlays that need mishima-ed. 

I purchased a electric slab roller for the purpose but am getting feedback that it makes the particles align in weird ways and I haven't been able to get it completely flat (tried the drywall sandwiching, no overhandling)

With that said, I'm thinking to go the route of slipcasting to fill in the gap between where I'm now and where I will be when a RAM becomes financially viable. Any cons and pros about slipcasting tiles would be appreciated.

I have no experience with slip casting tiles, however I do with handmade, pressed tiles. After you roll out your slab in your slab roller, are you compressing the slab in numerous directions to remove the memory?

We used to roll our slabs so they would be about 1/4"-3/8" thicker than the tiles final pressed thickness; we'd then use a large drywall knife (12-14") and would compress the slab in numerous directions (left to right,  right to left, up and down, down and up) a couple of times, then the slab would get cut to the mold's size and would be pressed; after the tile was pressed, the excess was wired off, and the back of the tile was compressed with soft rib (L-R, R-L, U-D, D-U a couple more times).