Low Fire Clay/Glaze for Bakeware?

Greetings!

I'm a fairly novice potter who has made figurative pottery with some functionality using Amaco Low Fire White, which fires to 04. These are mostly ring dishes and candle holders. 

I've recently been looking to make food safe pottery such as plates, teapots, and pie plates, but have been given conflicting reports on how to make them fully food safe.
I know that low fire clay is somewhat porous, but would a good quality glaze make them 100% food safe?
I also have heard that pie plates and other bakeware may be prone to thermal shock if just stuck into a hot oven, and then contradicting information that well glazed, low fire pots tend to have less of this issue than say, stoneware.
  I'm not sure, and would love any insight! Thank you!

Hi and welcome to the forum! First off, is this the Amaco White clay you are using? If so the first thing I would suggest trying is firing it hotter than cone 04, Amaco lists this clay as having 13.5% absorption at cone 04 which is high but typical for lowfire bodies, absorption will be less if you can fire higher. Amaco states this clay can go to cone 3. Which leads to a second point, your glazes. Some glazes can fire hotter than what they are rated for, but not all can. If you can do some tests to see how hot you can push your glaze(s) in order to tighten the body up from what it is at cone 04 that would be the first thing I would look at, it's still going to be porous but less so. (BTW It’s much easier to make non leaking pots in the mid and high fire ranges than lowfire)