QotW:  What matters the most to you when throwing?

Hi folks, we had a question a while back on the QotW pool that I thought I would stretch a little for better response. liambesaw asked if wheel direction is something that is important to you? I am going to stretch this a bit to ask. . . Is it wheel direction, wheel speed, variation of speed, smoothness on the wheel or another factor that is most important to you.

All of you probably remember that I was a teacher. When teaching we often had to deal with righty's and  lefty's. Interestingly enough, Handedness would be used as an excuse to not try at a task, and in most cases I could overcome that by demonstrating any technique by using the other hand. This when drawing, painting or other flat work was easy, with the wheel a little harder. However, I came to be able to center both directions open, and throw. Not as well, but reasonably.

For me wheel direction is important, as its the ability to have varied speeds. Our only wheel in the department was an old Amaco 2 speed wheel. Neither speed was very robust, and throwing on it was limited in size. . . I usually torque stopped it when throwing more than 12#. Later the motorized kick wheels worked well, and trained one to move slower as the form rose. . . a natural attribute of any kick wheel. Moving on to the direct drive belt driven wheels was at times and embarrassment, but they were fabulous for larger pots, or faster production. My only complaint was when a belt would be worn in an area, or pick up some sort of crud  where the wheel would have a Whomp Whomp every time you went over that area. This usually ended up with strained nerves, and pots with some sort of twist line.

What are important wheel qualities to you when throwing, and what type of wheel do you throw on?

best,

Pres

• Pres pinned and featured this topic