Primitive or local clay?

I do not have a kiln and really don't want to get one. I'm aiming for primitive skills.  My ancestors did it, so can I.

I am new to pottery. Only worked with clay in high school, so now, 20 years later.  But even then, my art teacher dug up local, brown clay from the Chehalis River basin in Western Washington.  I have fired little beads and things  successfully in my woodstove in the house with the local brown clay.  Also did a lot.of.cob in my old hpuse.and built a fire pit and fireplace surround with cob (clay, sand, straw mixture)

So I moved to a new place and it is LOADED with grey and yellow clay (the brown stuff cracked badly while drying and also disentegrated when firing, so I abandoned that- too much organic matter?  It came from the bottom dip on my field and passed the "snake" test, and was fine and soft, nice to work with and no rocks- which is why now, in winter my field is a mud mess  and I have been trying to pit fire or fire in my woodstove.  Note- my goal is to do things primitively.  Eventually, it may be a side hustle for the farm. But for now I am just aiming to make some coffee cups and a few bowls to eat my Cheerios from. Yes, I have read about the food safety rules.  I'm still gonna eat my Cheerios in the bowl.