Bubbles in Glaze

Narelle

I fired some mugs yesterday and got a heap of bubbles in the glaze. I'm only new to ceramics so I'm not sure what went wrong.

The mugs were fire to cone 6 (999c). The fire was done in stages, first to 250c for 2 hours, 500c for 2 hours, 750c for 2 hours and the to 999c and held for 20 minutes at that temp.  After the 20 I turned off the kiln and left to cool naturally overnight.

Any feedback would be great, thanks

DSC_8491.jpg

• Replies 51
  • Created
  • Last Reply
1 hour ago, Narelle said:

The mugs were fire to cone 6 (999c).

I think you might have meant cone 06? Cone 6 would be approx 1220C

What cone is your glaze meant for?

Would you clarify your schedule? Can't quite figure out what you mean. What is the rate per hour you are increasing at in each segment?

Are you using witness cones to verify your final cone?

Hi, and welcome to the forum :)

Hi Min.  Yes, the glaze is meant for 06.

Only have 06 cones, still waiting for others to come in the mail, as I said in the original post, still very new to this.

The schedule is one that I found on a website and copied.  Have not worked out how to program the temperature controller on the kiln yet, so have been doing it manually.

The ramp up to 250C took 20 minutes, held at that temp for 1hr40mins.

The ramp up from 250 - 500C took another 20 minutes, held at 500C for 1hr40mins. Closed the front peephole at 500C

The ramp up from 500 - 750C took around 30 minutes, held at 750C for 1hr30mins. Closed the top peephole at 750C.

The final ramp from 750 - 999C took 45 minutes, held at 999C for 20 minutes.

Then shut the kiln off, left the peepholes closed. Left cool overnight before opening the door. The mugs were warm in the morning but not hot.

I have the rate of cool down for the first hour or so, written down if you would like to know how quickly it cooled down. I will have to go and get my notes to remember.