figurative sculpture surface

MollyMac

I am working on figurative ceramic sculptures and would like to bisque them (08) since they are very fragile. Then I want to coat them so the effect is multiple thick layers of colored slips/engobe? I am using stoneware b clay with grog. I love the look that artists like Michele Gregor has, Debra Fritt....I assume that potters can help me understand the chemistry and what I CAN use to get this look. As I read, I am learning that I can color engobes with mason stain BUT I need to make sure the engobe recipe is right so that it will bond with the bisqued clay body? I have never made slip or engobe before. Yes, I'm a newb.

Hi CB!

I've used Speedball prepared underglazes on bisque ware - seems to work great! ...also glazes. 

Right you are, your colour has to play nice with bisqued clay; I don't have any tested* recipes for slips, engobes, underglazes to be used on bisque - perhaps others will chime in.

*there are recipes "out there" - I just haven't tried them . If time allows, test on same clay before applying to your sculptures.

Did you see the "about" page on Fritts website? She speaks of using oxides, slips, underglazes and glazes. In her video she mentions a little bit about her technique. If you want a recipe for an engobe for bisque you could start with the Daniel Rhodes one then start adding oxides or stains. I would start testing washes also.

Rhodes Engobe for cone 08 - 1 for bisque:

Kaolin 5

Ball clay  15

Calcined kaolin 20

Leadless frit  15 

Talc  15

Silica  20

Zirocopax  5

Borax  5

Welcome to the forum. :)

Thanks for the info, I did see he page, but to tell you the truth, I'm still a bit confused and learning more that I don't know! Her surfaces look thick and very natural which I like. She uses the mason stains I assume like watercolor....I don't know much about oxides except they can be toxic and used some in a class as a wash to bring out texture.  I see experiments in my future!