Staining Amaco versa clay #20 Body

Soren

Recently, I have been trying to use stains and oxides to color the clay I use.  As a complete ceramics beginner, I may be tackling more than I should, but I am an engineer by trade, so the experimentation is a draw for me.

I hand-build, sometimes using a press mold.

My preferred clay at this time is Amaco versa clay #20 that I bisque fire to Cone 04 and glaze fire to Cone 06.

I have made some small (~1kg) batches of stained body clay and test fired small disks with different concentrations of stain.  For some reason, even with concentrations of 10 to 2 (sometimes even 10 to 3) the colors almost always appear washed out and pastel.  I expected this somewhat from adding stain to the clay body, but it seems like I would be adding much more stain than I normally read in recipes if I increase my concentrations to obtain darker colors.

Is there a better way to obtain bold colors in clay bodies?  With the way I calculate the concentration, I am using a comparative ratio rather than a percentage.  I first measure out 1000 grams of clay and add 200 grams of stain to obtain a concentration of 10 to 2 (that I note as 20 or "20%" which is not a true percentage, as actual percentage is 2/(10 clay+2 stain)=16.67%).  Would it be problematic to increase the percentages higher than true 20%?

One colorant in particular that I used was cobalt carbonate.  I have read that this is a strong colorant and will produce dark blues at concentrations of 1-5%.  At my concentration of 10 to 2 (16.67% stain), the color was still only medium blue.  I have ordered some cobalt oxide to test instead of cobalt carbonate, and I hope this helps in obtaining a dark blue with the Amaco #20 clay.