Working with Lusters

39 minutes ago, sima said:

hello 

i'm sima from iran and i am a beginner

i really want to learn about the techniques that are used to make these products. hope you could help me learn more. if you know any resources leet me know

Untitled.jpg

Untitled1.jpg

Untitled2.jpg

Sima, looks like you have a collection of luster glazed pottery. Most of these are functional items, but I would not use any of them for serving food etc. Maybe just an old potters prejudice. The process involves firing ware at a regular temperature where clay and glaze is matured. After that glaze firing, an overglaze of luster that is toxic, and often contains metallic oxides or salts is painted on over top of the original glaze in part or all. Then a third firing(assuming bisque, glaze, luster firings) is done at a low temperature, near 1500F, with a vented kiln. The fumes from the firing are quite toxic, and the ware afterwards needs gentle polishing to remove a slight residue.

Did this process in 90's with some pieces, successful, but not interested in the lack of durability and the toxic nature. The lusters will rub off over time, and if you consider the materials they are made of you would be ingesting these if the pottery were meant for serving or food. 

best,

Pres

best,

Pres

53 minutes ago, Rae Reich said:

Sima, although gold is also a lustre and applied and fired the same way, it is food safe and a bit more durable (unless microwaved).

That dinnerware set Is beautiful. 

hi rae. 

do you know any video or any toturial that explains how gold lustre is used?

it's expensive but beautiful and food safe.

thank you.

I can tell you what I learned many years ago and is still useful, but you will have to look up videos yourself (try the sites of the manufacturers).

Apply to a high gloss, food-safe glaze surface. Dark, black or red are favored undercolors for large areas of gold, but not essential.