Options for drying clay

Hi, I'm a newbie! About a month ago, I made a few small objects using terra cotta clay and let them dry all of this time in my studio on the second floor of my house. I live in Maryland and the weather has been varying between 30 degrees and 50 degrees outside. We keep the house at 68 F. So, today, I decided to do a bisque firing of this greenware and also, fired some smaller objects made from white clay that have been drying for about three months (I had forgotten about them.) My kiln is a Paragon Quickfire Kiln, which I have used for bisque firing before about five times, the last two firings including this one wasn't successful.

Today, when I fired these objects, two of the terra cotta objects exploded to pieces and so did one of the while clay objects. Again, these pieces ranged in size, but very small. I fired according to the kiln directions: fire to 500 degrees with a stilt propping open the hood, then removed the stilt to fire to 1950 degrees, cool to 1500 degrees and fire to 1950 degrees. At about 700 degrees, the first explosion happened, which was a small barely audible pop sound. At about 800 degrees the same sound again, so I turned it off and unplugged it. As it was cooling, there was a louder explosion, which caused "smoke" or clay powder to exhaust from the top of the kiln hood. Then, luckily nothing else happened. ZoomButt.gif

One piece was completely shattered, made of terra cotta and the thickest of the pieces. Another had pieces that had exploded off of it. The last, a piece that was an inch long and a quarter of an inch think sheared in half length wise and broke apart.

All of the pieces seemed dry. Not sure what happened. Seems to me that it is most likely a combination of the drying not being complete and the kiln. (I'm going to be purchasing an electric digital kiln soon, which I hope will help with part of the problem.)