trying to scale up, what building technique is best?

Dear ceramic arts daily community, 

I am a design student  and I am trying to scale up a model I made of a terracotta clay drinking fountain I designed, my knowledge of clay is proving limited as at the moment as I am finding difficult to make this fountain in a real size (90 cm height) I will coil for the stand , I made a press mold for the basin yet not sure whats best to approach the curvy joints. please find a picture of the small model I made. any suggestions for building?  how can I  translate this design to a bigger scale?  any thoughts? 

Best Wishes

Veronica

image1.jpeg

Coiling will work OK,

but some of the more important questions are:

What are the structural loads on the item after it is scaled up to its final size?  Are all the dimensions scaled at the same ratios?  What are the minimum wall thicknesses necessary for the fountain to stand alone and function properly?  These answers will useful in the choices of forming. 

How heavy will the fountain be as it is being made, at the bone dry stage, and at the final conditions?  The answers here influence the decisions on making the object as a single piece or making it in parts to be assembled at a later state. 
How will the fountain be fired? [Related to the available kiln configurations available to you].

Does the fountain need to be fired to the clay body maturity temperature (aka zero water absorption) or can it be fired to a lower temperature? This decision will influence choices of clay bodies and firing requirements. 

What is your time allotment to work on the fountain?  When is it due, and how many hours per day will be available to work on the fountain?  

How will you dry the fountain? 

How will you handle the fountain while it is being constructed?  Total weight will have a large influence on what you must do. 

How will the fountain surface be decorated? Is glazing required?