Craftymicky

HELP - how does this kiln work

Hi,

I’m new to this, total novice! 

I’ve  been given a kiln I can’t find instructions to.

i tried to fire it up to try it out and it just turned off.

here are some pics: 

Thanks in advance

862884AC-A100-4DC0-8891-799B663EF699.jpeg

0A7901E9-85D8-4F85-82A5-FA406B66E76A.jpeg

Edited by Craftymicky
To add photos

Hi.

Mills & Hubball went out of business in 1977/1978. I don't think anyone took the business over. The chances of finding a manual are vanishingly small.

Given that your kiln is at least 40 years old, it might be worth letting a  kiln-savvy electrician give it the once over, unless you are comfortable with 'leccy things. Having said that, the interior looks in good condition for that age, and the frame etc. isn't actually rusting into the ground. Note that it requires 14 Amps, which means a circuit with greater capacity than the normal socket circuit in the UK. Putting one in especially for the kiln is a good idea.

The Off/Low/Med/High switch is a simmerstat. It does what is says: it cycles power on and off to the elements at a rate dependant on its setting. At 'low', it will switch off more than on; at 'med' perhaps half and half, and so on. Electric cookers uses to use these. Being a mechanical switching device, they eventually go wrong, but are readily available and replaceable.

In use, you'd start the firing on 'low' for a few hours, then to 'med' for a few hours, then to 'high'. The exact timings of this will require experimentation to get the right profile for your purposes.

Can you provide a better picture of the other dial? It's very indistinct. It's purpose will be to set the top temperature for the kiln. It would be interesting to know the mechanism behind it.

Edited by Sputty
Speeeling.

Thanks Sputty, that’s great!

Here is a photo of the instructions ( I don’t have but are sold with the actual thingy on eBay just now) .