Thermoresistance

Kseniia

Hi everybody! I am a beginner in ceramics. Could anyone please consult me on one issue? If I use a thermoresistant clay and burn it at 1050 C, will it be less thermoresistant than if I burn it at 1300C? Can I cook for example coffee in a pot burnt at 1050 at all?

The short answer is no; at 1050C the clay body is only fused. Vitrification begins at 2050F, and increases up to 2190F. The type and amount of fluxes used determine the final vitrification temp.

thermoresistance, commonly known as thermo shock in the States is a broad term that encompasses several formulation variables. I will not bore you with the details. Except to say thermoresistnt bodies which are more commonly used in raku, salt, or wood firings begin with switching out much of the silica with pyrophyllte. These bodies are not necessarily intended for functional use ( food use). Ovenware and or flame ware bodies however are formulated for food use.

additional note: the expansion of these bodies are much lower than traditional porcelain/stoneware bodies. This translates to buying or mixing glazes specifically formulated to match the lower expansion rates. 

Nerd

20 minutes ago, glazenerd said:

The short answer is no; at 1050C the clay body is only fused. Vitrification begins at 2050F, and increases up to 2190F. The type and amount of fluxes used determine the final vitrification temp.

thermoresistance, commonly known as thermo shock in the States is a broad term that encompasses several formulation variables. I will not bore you with the details. Except to say thermoresistnt bodies which are more commonly used in raku, salt, or wood firings begin with switching out much of the silica with pyrophyllte. These bodies are not necessarily intended for functional use ( food use). Ovenware and or flame ware bodies however are formulated for food use.