Firing Pots With Lids

Hello All.  First apologies if this is in the incorrect forum.

I am new to throwing pots and have been working with a local studio who takes care of the firing process for me.  Recently I made three cookie jars that I glazed both the lid and the rim of the jar.  Fully expecting the two items to be fired separately because I would think they would meld together during the firing process.  However all three pots were fired with the lids in place completely joining the two pieces together.  The studio said that this sometimes happens and I now  have  several new door stops.  I was kind of taken back by this.  It was suggested to freeze them and perhaps I could separate them after they have been in the freezer for a while.   it seems to me it would be easier to have fired them separately. 

Can I get a sanity check?  Is this really the process that people follow when firing items with lids on?

Thanks in advance.

Mike

It’s not the only way to do it but the most common way is to fire pots with lids in place. Wax resist on any parts that are going to be touching with a small margin, adding a tiny bit of alumina hydrate to galleries if you use porcelain. The pot helps keep the lid from warping and vice versa. Honestly don’t think freezing them is going to pop the lids off if the entire lid is glazed in place. It’s a shame that who ever loaded your pots didn’t notice the glaze on the galleries. One of the reasons people like having their own kilns is so things like this don't happen, or if they do we only have ourselves to blame. ;)

Min nailed it on the head before I could post. Freezing will do nothing to unstick your lids. The only way a temp change is going to cause your glazed portions to separate is if there was a rapid temp change, and consequently expansion/contraction which would likely break more than your desired area. Short answer, theyre on there for good unless you cut them off with diamond cutting tools.