Armature Help

I am brand new to sculpting and I need to get a few more pieces in my portfolio to get accepted into an art program. I decided to begin using ceramics and earth clay instead of oven-bake polymer clay and I really need help on how to keep my clay from cracking around my armature. I don't know what materials are safe in a kiln and what materials will make my clay explode. I sculpted a hand with a wire armature and as it was drying it started to crack. I looked it up and found out that I need to have room for shrinkage and ways to help is to wrap newspaper around the wire. Is it safe to put newspaper and wire in a piece and have it not explode and crack? How am I supposed to control the drying environment so that my clay doesn't crack? And I’m also trying to sculpt a skull and I was wondering if it would be easier to hollow it out than to make an armature.

Any tips and tricks wanted!!!

Thanks!!

Mikelle

Mikelle-

What scale are you working (miniature, life size, larger)? Rough dimensions are good. Having  an idea of how large your pieces will be allows options for whether you might need an armature , what techniques to use, what materials might be used to make the armatures (if needed), and what kind of armature might be utilized.

Wire armatures work, but you will want to remove them from the clay prior to firing. Padding the armature with paper will help with the shrinking issue as long as the paper is not densely crumpled. You will want the paper to be able to “give” as the clay shrinks. Hollowing the piece is an option, both with and without an armature. This can be done when the clay has stiffened enough to be handled without distorting it too much, but soft enough to allow you to carve away excess clay and to reattach sections you may have cut apart in order to hollow them.

As to controlling drying, wrapping with plastic bags, putting the pieces in an airtight container, or under an inverted plastic bucket all work.