kraythe

Glazing to the base without freezing to shelf?

I am just a self taught hobbyist but I have been making some mugs. My handles still aren’t yeh best but my latest attempt is attached (partially dried). It has a cut ring above the rim for decoration and I wanted to glaze all the way to the base of the pot but I am worried about the pot sticking to the shelf. Any suggestions for preventing this but still glaze all the way to the base? Thanks.

665DBAD0-0518-498D-B1D5-ED15B635AEBA.jpeg

Take some of the same clay and make some circles just slightly smaller than the base diameter of the mugs and about 1/4" thick and dry them between boards so they stay flat. Bisque fire them then set mugs on the bisqued circles of clay. If your glaze is fairly stiff this should work, if it's runny then you're going to have to grind off glaze drips. If you cut more of an undercut at the base of the mug you don't really see much raw clay at all.

11 hours ago, Min said:

Take some of the same clay and make some circles just slightly smaller than the base diameter of the mugs and about 1/4" thick and dry them between boards so they stay flat. Bisque fire them then set mugs on the bisqued circles of clay. If your glaze is fairly stiff this should work, if it's runny then you're going to have to grind off glaze drips. If you cut more of an undercut at the base of the mug you don't really see much raw clay at all.

I don't follow what you mean about the undercut. The very base of the mug is visible in this closeup. 

As for your suggestion, a plinth! I feel silly now that I didn't think of that. 

6 minutes ago, kraythe said:

I don't follow what you mean about the undercut. The very base of the mug is visible in this closeup. 

As for your suggestion, a plinth! I feel silly now that I didn't think of that.