Sumiink

Peter Pugger VPM 20SS

Hello,

Can anyone advise me on the Peter Pugger VPM 20 SS, de-airing mixer pugger? i started by looking at the Shimpo NVS-o7 and was advised i can leave a hollow centre in the pug, especially with porcelain. I have heard that the 20SS is really their best model, as the paddles are different, the hopper is bigger, and also the barrel narrows 2x for superior compression. I am not a production potter so am concerned also about the size, but i was also advise i could do a 25 lb batch without compromise of quality. Most important is the quality of the pugged clay and the ease of use. Also, critically, 2 people i spoke to with the 9ss said they have to pug the same batch 2-3 times; and that it can't do what is in the movie - i.e., turn dried out clay into a beautiful pug, without alot of messing around with wetting down the clay on boards in advance. I was advised the 20SS is less 'finicky'. this is a big stretch for me, can anyone offer a rave review? Or, problems with the combining of two functions into one machine which sometimes means neither is that good - i.e., either the mixing, or the pugging, suffers. thanks.

Yes I can advise

I have the VPM 30 which is not stainless.

I have a friend with a VPM 9 and its to small for most anyone as it holds so little you need to run it thru twice.

I have been around two of the VPM 20s Only one was the stales ss model-They are at an art center that I volunteer evey few years and I will be there in about a week as its mid pacific on an Island. They process white clay in one and brown clay in the non ss model.

They are a good size machine-I feel the right size for most people.

The 30 is the right size for me as I'm a production potter-I just wish it was SS as I work in Porcelain only.

The 20SS is as large as they can get into their  C&C machine with a solid block of stainless 

In my view this is the best combo machine on the market and clay has been my life for over 40 years.