Skutt Cone 10 vs larger Skutt Cone 8 kiln

Autumn

I was asked about the pros and cons of buying a Cone 10 Skutt, (6.4 cu ft) vs a Cone 8 Skutt (9.9 cu ft) for firing at cone 6.      I'd suspect one might run into element wear sooner with the larger kiln, but since I really don't know, I'm hoping someone might have some insights.   

Thank you.  

You need to pick your kiln size by the amount of work you produce or might produce in the future.  It is harder to fill a large kiln before you can fire it.  If you are a massive thrower you shouldn't have any problem filling it.   I am a hand builder so it takes me a while.   I have always had a big Skutt a medium size Paragon and small test kiln..  My Paragon is 50 years old and is to old to repair any more,  I miss having it around it was a lot easier to fill.   I don't know about C10 versus C8 all of my kilns are C10 and I get what I would consider long life out of the elements.    Denice

8 hours ago, Autumn said:

I was asked about the pros and cons of buying a Cone 10 Skutt, (6.4 cu ft) vs a Cone 8 Skutt (9.9 cu ft) for firing at cone 6.

If you are firing to cone 6, get a kiln with 3" thick firebricks rather than 2 1/2". Always get a cone 10 kiln for firing pottery even if you don't fire to cone 10. The elements in a cone 10 kiln generally last longer than elements in a cone 8 kiln. The hotter you fire, of course, the faster the elements will wear out.

Sincerely,

Arnold Howard

Paragon Industries, L.P., Mesquite, Texas USA
ahoward@paragonweb.com / www.paragonweb.com