Audrey porcelain

Nicky S

Wondering if anyone would / could help me I am new to pottery Until now I have been working with earthenware( on the wheel ) When using stains I mixed with a slip recipe and apply to green ware But now I would like to try porcelain How do I apply the stain ?Do I need to use slip mixed with stain ( someone suggested I just apply a little water mixed with stain ONLY and  use only on  bisque fired ) but I am looking to do Sgraffito too Would appreciate any help Happy New Year

Thankyou Nicky

8 hours ago, High Bridge Pottery said:

I would do exactly the same thing you did with earthenware, might need to adjust the percentage of stain a little. Whatever works, just using stain and water can also work. 

@High Bridge Pottery Thank you for your response But one ( more) question

What slip would I use and how to make ?

nicky 

porcelain is usually white so if you simply use the porcelain itself with stain added you will get the best bond with little trouble.  the easy way to make any slip is to dry out some of the raw clay, whatever kind it is, and once it is totally dry, add water to make a liquid.  mix it with a blender, stick or regular so it becomes totally smooth.  add color via stain and test for color after firing.  a variety of thickness will allow you to do many different things.

you say you are new at all this and you need to know that you are stepping off the edge of comfortable into the unknown but exciting world of experimenting.  there are lots of posts about making ware with scraffito decoration and you have probably seen many examples on pinterest or other social media sites.  have a lot of fun with it all.

On 12/28/2017 at 8:03 PM, High Bridge Pottery said:

Using the porcelain is the easiest option, what slip recipe do you use?

Thought I would try making a slip from the same clay body (???) as suggested by old lady and test a few tiles just with water too