Rockhopper

Why did my plates split ?

I've been making mugs, bowls, & other similar shapes for several years.  Decided to try throwing some small plates - and my first three all split in half while drying.  I suspect it's because they dried too fast and/or unevenly.  (The rims were nearly bone-dry, while the rest was still a stiff leather-hard.)    Am I right - this is a drying issue - or is there something else that might cause this ?

It's Standard #112 stoneware.  Plates are approx. 5/16" thick, & the two smaller ones are btwn 5" and 6" across - the larger 7"-8".  The split on the large one followed the central stem of the leaf that was pressed into it - but the other two did not, so I don't think that was a primary factor.

20171202_210907a.jpg

112 is a very forgiving clay, so they're most likely too thick. At least too thick for the speed at which you dried them. Plates should be under 1/4" thick, especially plates that small. Trim more next time. Also make sure you compress the bottom well during throwing. If you do a good job compressing and trimming, you shouldn't need to slow down the drying at all for something that size.

D.M.Ernst likes this