Can I get some opinions and answers on this clay body.

kraythe

As some have read I am not happy with the clay body I am using because I cant know vital stats about the body because they wont tell me what is in it.  So I have been considering having a mix that I know about before hand and can control its contents. Realizing that it would be foolish to try to do it from scratch on my own, as I am a hobbyist and not a pro,  So I have been surfing the internet looking for recipes and that is actually not easy as many people keep their formulas to themselves. I did find an excellent article from Jeff Campana on a clay body an would like to know your opinion on it.  I also have some questions: 

• Would it be worth replacing the Minspar 200 with Nepheline Syenite to get a whiter body or could that lead to problems. 
  • Is the usage of Tile #6 Kaolin just to make the body more workable on the wheel? 
  • I am wondering if it would be possible to raise the thermal expansion to the 7 range? I tried to add Talc in Digital Fire and it LOWERED the expansion, which confused me to no end. What compromises do I have to make (whiteness or something else) to raise the calculated expansion or I will have just as many glaze fit problems as I have now. 

Thanks for your time.  The original recipe is below:

Campana.PNG.8de37e902d20bc9cfee92765c29608d2.PNG

I cannot address cone 6 bodies at all(since I use cone 10 bodies) but I can say using a commercial body is about 1000 times easier for a hobbist-I suggest you just experiment with a few until you find one you are happy with. 

If you are going to make one -I assume you have a mixer and a vacuum pug mill or a all in one unit like a petter pugger? If that's a  yes than making a body in small quantities makes a bit of sense.

23 minutes ago, Mark C. said: