what is your favorite wax resist?

During the Sunshine Cobb demo/workshop this past weekend at the Red Lodge Clay Center, the topic of wax resist came up. One person said the Wax resist from Columbus Clay was a "game changer". in Montana, many people have used the Liquid Wax from Archie bray developed in the 1950s for Hamada's visit. I have been using Aftosa wax for several years because I can see it. Its blue.  Anyone have a favorite?

Marcia

Guest JBaymore

A Luddite here.  I still use hot wax.  Have good hood ventilation, a good temperature controlled pan, a fire extinguisher next to it, and I watch it like a hawk.  Have never found a liquid emulsion that works as well. 

BUT... I also do not do intricate fine-lined wax resist work.  Much bolder strokes for decoration.

best,

.......................john

I have used some liquids in the past, but of late mostly hot wax. I have a tendency to dip bottoms on the chalices, for a super clean edge, and like to do the same on mugs and pots with foot rings that are cut to be feet. However, everything else gets wet washed to remove glaze from bottoms.

My favorite 

I also use paraffin in a hot pan outside-the pan is 14 inches wide and we use it for all unfooted forms.

I need both types to make a living at this clay thing.

I think the ceramic shop in PA has this wax still-or so I was told.

12 minutes ago, Marcia Selsor said:

So what is Forbes wax?

I don't know per say. I tried a bunch of waxes when I started. They all frustrated the crap out of me. Forbes is liquid and can be brushed and is almost instantly dried wax on the pot. It is odd because you can put it in a cup use it, then pour it back in the jar and it doesn't change consistencies. I don't know how it works. But it is beautiful. It doesn't gum up and get all nasty. Its just really nice.

6 minutes ago, Joseph F said: