Need help with supporting sculptures for kiln fire

I've been playing with making these Cats in various positions and I'm new to hand building.  I really like the thin neck to add character, however the head falls off during the firing process.  its hollow but still heavy compared to the neck.  I've tried firing the head separate from the body and gluing later but with shrinkage etc, it isn't a good fit.  any ideas?  I don't have a vent on my kiln so armatures are difficult.  I tried a wire the first time ,now realizing that was a bad move and it melted of course.   and I'm using clay with grog if that matters firing to cone 6

any advice appreciated, thank you

Untitled.png

Not a cat-lover, but he is cute.

If you make a mould from the cat, and then slip-cast him. he will be a uniform thickness and that might improve the weight issue.

You say the head "falls off".  Does it actually break, or just slump?

If you make the two parts separate, you need the neck to be a long cone shape, and the hole in the head to be round so it fits on the cone.

Hi

love the cat! Have you ever tried paperclay? You can low bisque fire your piece and then add on to it with paperclay slip so if the head falls off you can put it back on. If you want to know more google paperclay. I use it almost exclusively in my sculptural work now. Good luck, and let me know if you try it. It won't disappoint!

On ‎9‎/‎9‎/‎2017 at 0:22 AM, Chilly said:

Not a cat-lover, but he is cute.

If you make a mould from the cat, and then slip-cast him. he will be a uniform thickness and that might improve the weight issue.

You say the head "falls off".  Does it actually break, or just slump?

If you make the two parts separate, you need the neck to be a long cone shape, and the hole in the head to be round so it fits on the cone.