Cracking Ceramics

shiro

Hello all, I have a question about glazed items cracking in the kiln.

I'm a volunteer for a charity with a ceramic workshop but I'm still learning the ropes about ceramics myself. The problem is some wall plaques that we make. They bisque fire just fine but the last few times we've glaze fired them they have all cracked, even if they are of different designs. The crack is very clean with no splinters usually cracking in just one place into two clean peices. I'm pretty sure it's not bubble related or it would have exploded on the bisque firing and there's no sign of any bubbles in the breaks. The glazes are ones we often use and aside from the cracks the fired peices look great and the glaze has fired fine.

Other items being fired at the same time have all been fine.

In the past we have glaze fired these same wall plaques with no problems.

Our electric kiln was inherited from another charity and is very slow and needs the elements replaced (which is happening after the holidays) But even despite the slowness it's been firing things fine until these recent breakages.

If anyone can explain why this is happening, it'd be very helpful!

Thanks! :)

Hello all, I have a question about glazed items cracking in the kiln.

I'm a volunteer for a charity with a ceramic workshop but I'm still learning the ropes about ceramics myself. The problem is some wall plaques that we make. They bisque fire just fine but the last few times we've glaze fired them they have all cracked, even if they are of different designs. The crack is very clean with no splinters usually cracking in just one place into two clean peices. I'm pretty sure it's not bubble related or it would have exploded on the bisque firing and there's no sign of any bubbles in the breaks. The glazes are ones we often use and aside from the cracks the fired peices look great and the glaze has fired fine.

Other items being fired at the same time have all been fine.