Novice Questions

Disclaimer: I know every forum loathes posts such as these, but I am 100% self taught and try to be self reliant as much as possible HOWEVER there are many questions I do have that the college-level books and various internet videos do not seem to answer, so I throw myself to the mercy of the web forums, heh.

I am working with a ^5 Porcelain clay body by ArmadilloClay and I have a hand-me-down Paragon TnF-66 kiln purchased in 2001(new) that hadn't been used but 3-4 times since 2004ish. I was able to fire it up for a test run on Tuesday and then on Wednesday I actually successfully completed my first ever batch of bisque-ware @ ^06 with the witness cones giving me more of a readout of around ^05 after all was said and done. All in all, I am content with that and I think I have the Bisque part of this hobby understood for the most part. My questions now circulate the glazing process. (photos of my figurines attached just to get an idea of what I will be working with as well an item I would like to attempt to try glaze wise, but not copy, which I do not claim credit for and have kept the IG artists name in view)

1.) I will be painting figurines and was curious as to whether or not I am to apply Underglaze, air dry, and then apply a clear overglaze?

2.) If I do use a commercial Underglaze, can/should I water it down to get more of a "watercolor" effect on my items, or should I strictly use a product such as a Semi-Moist Underglaze Palette?

3.) What cone do people usually fire their glazed work at? My clay states ^5 and most of the commercial glazes I see range from the lower cones up to ^10 so I am a tad confused. From what I have read the higher up, the more washed out colors tend to get; but if my clay body says ^5 does that mean I fire the glazes to ^5 as well or is that just like, the max that clay can handle?