Finding The Right Show For You

I did a show in LA last weekend. Drove 15 hour (plus fuel break)

Although it looked good on paper, it didn't feel like the right show for me (not enough handmade work, lots of mass-produced products which they didn't reveal) In the end I came just shy of recouping costs.

I've made myself a list of shows to do this year and it's Renegade (many of those), American Craft Council and Smithsonian.

Since I'm just getting started in pottery selling business, I'm in a "whatever it takes" mindset and doing about 12 shows this year. All retail shows, no trade yet. Perhaps NY_NOW next year.

I want to find the right audience and do the shows with the most impact in terms of ROI.

This would be a question for the westcoast potters -- what are some shows that draw clientele who understand value of handmade art and have the money to pay for them?

Aside from American Craft Council and Smithsonian, what are some other shows that would be considered the gold standard in the world of craft shows for ceramic?

Thank you

Here's my blog post about picking shows:

http://www.goodelephant.com/blog/the-art-festival-plan-part-1

I think the most important advice in this post is to visit a show in person before you apply. You can tell so much more from an in-person visit than you can see from anything on paper. Show organizers lie and exaggerate about their shows (as you just learned). This means you should be thnking about what shows you want to do more than a year in advance, so that you can plan a visit.

And for gold standard shows, in addition to ACC Shows and Smithsonian, there is the Philadelphia Museum of Art (PMA) Craft Show, CraftBoston, American Craft Expo (Chicago). In the west, there is the La Quinta Art Festival (SoCal) and Cherry Creek Art Festval (Denver).