Help! Newbie Struggling With How Much Water?

Hi everyone.  I am a beginner and just inherited a pottery wheel.  (2 speed AMACO wheel)  I don't have access to any schools or studios/instructors so have had to rely on internet (youtube videos have been a huge part of my learning process) for instruction & guidance.  

I have thrown a couple of bowls thus far but I know something is very wrong and am at a loss.  My daughter saw the photos of the work I've done already and she commented that I was using too much water (based on her high school pottery class experience a couple of yrs ago) but was unable to help me figure out why I am struggling.

I am wedging about 75 - 100 motions before using the clay on the wheel and not noticing air bubbles, clay is soft but not sticky when I begin.  Getting the ball of clay stuck to the wheel not a problem.  Centering not working so well and I suspect that, too, is related to the water issue.  How hard is it supposed to be to cone the clay?  (how much resistance from the clay?)