Nine Warning Signs Of An Amateur Artist

• Replies 72
  • Created
  • Last Reply

“The seed of your next art work lies embedded in the imperfections of your current piece. Such imperfections are your guides–valuable, objective, non-judgmental guides to matters you need to reconsider or develop further.†~David Bayles

I have said something similar for a long time and I was so pleased to find it echoed here. Must mean I'm right.  :P

Last May I started a "100 Mugs in 100 Days" project. I cannot say that everything I made in that project is part of my permanent lineup now, but I tried all kinds of new ideas as well as working out the kinks in a design that I have been fiddling with for 2 1/2 years now as well as finally getting my handles to look like a planned part of the mug instead of something that was stuck on as an afterthought. Nobody but me was putting pressure on to make those mugs, but my creative juices ran wild and I couldn't wait to get out into the studio each day. I've thought of setting myself a new task each year to focus on a new form and remove that fear of failure that still rears its' head. Each failure brings me one step closer to success. It really means that I have eliminated one avenue and can spend my time focusing on a potentially more rewarding one.