Plastic Bat Issue

Suvi

Hello all! I am new to both the forum and to the craft. I recently bought a Speedball Artista wheel, and have been trying to center and throw a cylinder, but keep failing. I only got one small pot out of several days worth of practice - which I later ruined while trying to center and trim. At first I figured it was my technique, since I'm basically teaching myself how to do this. But then I noticed that the plastic bats I'm using have just a little bit of a wobble. They sit tight and flat, but seem to be just a tad bit off-center. The bare wheel head looks like it spins true. Is this small wobble going to be an issue, or am I overreacting? The bat pins are different sizes, and one slides out of the hole of the wheel head with just finger force, while the other pin needs removed via screwdriver. Is this normal? Does anyone have any experience with this? Am I doing it wrong? I just feel like I'm missing something here.

Hi Suvi, I'm new to the forums too. I'm wondering if you've tried just throwing on the wheel head without the  plastic bats? You say it looks to be spinning true until you use the bat. I've never used bats, just thrown directly onto the wheel. I'm sure there will be many here who have used the bats, and they'll have advice for you.

It makes 0 difference if your bat is off center or not. The center of the bat will just not be the center of the wheel, but you can just take a marker and turn on your wheel and draw a circle on the bat by placing the marker down as the wheel is going. The center of that circle will be the true center of that bat for your wheel. It might seem confusing that if a bat isn't centered, but really it doesn't matter as long as your wheel is true. Drawing the circle might help you visualize the center better as well.