#1 Nathan123

Nathan123

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 01 March 2017 - 03:21 AM

Hi,

I am new to ceramic glazing.

Are there any methods that can duplicate fire-based glazing on ceramics? I work at home, so i do not have access to kiln. I have read there are oven-based glazes and non-fire based glaze. How effective are they in terms of the glaze (will it be similar to fire glazed plate)?

Thank You.

#2 Marcia Selsor

Marcia Selsor

Professor Emerita, MSU-Billings

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 6,258 posts
  • LocationRed Lodge, Montana

Posted 01 March 2017 - 10:20 AM

I don't think an unfired glaze would be food safe. I can't really say since I don't know what they are. But the chemical fluxing and fusing that occurs on kiln fired pots does fuse the chemicals. The are food safe as long as the correct non-toxic chemicals are used and fired correctly. Read the labels on the oven glaze jars. Also, not sure what kind of clay would be functional baked in the domestic oven.
Marcia
Marcia Selsor, Professor Emerita,Montana State University-Billings
[http://www.marciaselsorstudio.com

#3 neilestrick

neilestrick

Neil Estrick

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 4,985 posts
  • LocationGrayslake, IL

Posted 01 March 2017 - 12:44 PM

So are you bisque firing? If you're not firing at all, then there's nothing you can do to make pieces permanent or hard or durable or functional. And even if you're bisque firing, there's nothing that would be food safe that I know of. And even if they said it was food safe, I wouldn't eat off of it.

Neil Estrick
Kiln Repair Tech
L&L Kilns Distributor
Owner, Neil Estrick Gallery, LLC
www.neilestrickgallery.com

[email protected]

#4 oldlady

oldlady

single firing an electric kiln to cone 6

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,373 posts
  • Locationharpers ferry west va and pinellas park fl

Posted 01 March 2017 - 10:54 PM