New Kiln Wash Application

Good morning, I am new to electric kiln firing and as such kiln wash. Bought some that was mixed from a local studio and applied 3 coats. First one may have been a little thick so I thinned up the latter coats. After drying each layer I have noticed some cracking on the surface. What should I do ? Should I sand it till no longer visual. It is sparatic on some but not all of the shelves.

Planning on doing a bisque fire soon.

Thanks so much for help !!

Something I stumbled upon when starting out, but have not seen it discussed by the experts - I originally used a recipe similar to the one Marcia posted, and sometimes had serious peeling and other times not. Then I noticed that the peeling shelves were all ones laid flat on the table and left to dry while the non-peeling ones were leaned against the wall at an angle, exposing the back side as well as the front side. I assumed it had something to do with allowing moisture to penetrate through the shelf and evaporate from the back rather than all of it needing to come back out only the front after the coating of wash on the surface was already dry. I now always prop the freshly washed shelves against something while they dry. I have also changed my wash recipe to one Min suggests to eliminate the silica and replace half the kaolin with calcined kaolin to eliminate shrinkage. Have not had any problems with this.

• 3 weeks later...

Thinking of buying another shelf for more options when packing. Does a newly Kiln Washed shelf need to fired first before use, or is it ok to put ware onto the fresh wash?  I'm using commercial kaolin/al hydrate premix. Assuming also I can trust my glazes enough not to run before the shelf is protected.

Joe