Help Keeping Clay Centered On Wheel

I am pretty new to the wheel, but I can center the clay perfectly. Sometimes when I start to open the pot/drop the hole, I notice that the inside gets off center although the outside stays just fine. I can't quite pinpoint what I'm doing wrong, other than that I might be pulling my hands off too quickly. As I keep working, I tend to get wobbly walls that frustrate me. Any tips?

welcome, there have been many questions re: centering and opening.  if you try looking from the first page for posts about centering, you will find lots of good advice.  the biggest thing is to keep your hands on the clay through the entire process once you open the clay.  jerky movements result is jerky clay.  even if you are not doing more than following the clay upwards without squeezing or anything, keep your hands on it.

Couple of things can help correct this:

• Use the same position for your left hand as when centering, and then use the right hand braced against the left at the wrists to give support. If using the thumb, or fingers, use the top thumb section of the left to support the thumb/finger while opening.
  • Use a moderate, but not fast wheel speed
  • Stiffen the finger/fingers, and don't let them snap away from each other while opening
  • Always move hands away from the clay slowly so as to let the clay readjust to center after pressure, which pushes is off slightly.

best,

Pres

Pres:

I watched all 3 videos on your blog.. some questions?

In the second video when you being making pulls--- from 1:00 to 3:30 primarily.  This is where I get concerned when I throw. I can see the clay spinning slightly out of round as I pull up, and I feel the need to correct. This is the area where I seem to falter the most: my natural inclination is to stop and bring it back to center. Thoughts?

Nerd