Complete Beginner, Epic Fail When Firing

WMESArtTeach

Hey there everyone! I joined this forum in hopes of some help with my ceramics program I run at the school I teach at. For starters I've done a good amount of ceramics in my time, however the studio always had grad students do the loading/firing and us lowly undergrads/paying artists only got to see the before and after. 

I now have a lovely Peter Pugger (more on this later) and an Automatic Electric Skutt Kiln.

I have fired five times, three cone 04 bisque firings, all of which went perfectly. I watched a lot of videos and read a lot of things. I used a firing schedule I saw used on youtube that fires "low and slow". I like it because with elementary student work, and the amount of pieces going in the slower fire has prevented all explosions so far.

I have also fired two unsuccessful glaze firings. The first one 100% my fault, I fired 06 glazes at 04. Only one piece ended up blowing out, and only slightly tipped of its stilts. The pieces however all had lots of what look like popped bubbles on the surface. Also very strangely all of the pieces melted onto the stilts and I had to use a screwdriver to pry them off the pieces.

My second glaze firing I only loaded a few pieces, mostly my own in case something went wrong again. And oh my did it go wrong. All of the pieces are black piles of bubbled mess. They look like lava rocks. My stilts are completely engulfed in the clay, and almost every piece is stuck to my shelves.